This is why I do it………….

This is why I do it…………………….

Today was my first day back in the classroom since going on Maternity Leave in December. My work email had been re-activated and was flooded with mostly spam and then a diamond in the rough, and email that unbeknown to me had been sent to me two days after the birth of my son….I have not edited this at all, and please be aware that Rosalita is Portugese and speaks English as a Second Language. The most amazing part of this story is that Roman is on the Autism Spectrum and I hadn’t spoken with him about my baby since at least October of the previous year. This is why we teach. This is why I leave my own children for the day. This is why we keep going back.  I didn’t realise at the time that Roman even understood that I was having a baby. These beautiful children are absorbing the world, without the world even noticing.

Sent: Thursday, 21 March 2013 9:36 AM
Subject: A baby boy!

Dear Mrs B

Congratulations on the arrival of SAMUEL! We are so happy for you and your family!
Just wanted to let you know something that Roman said over the weekend.
I was driving to the beach and out of the blue said “Mum do you still have Mrs B’s number because you have to call her, and then i said ” why ?” and his answer” the baby is hatching soon” and i said What you mean? He answered “the baby is coming on Tuesday Mum you have to call her! But how do you know? His answer “what number is Tuesday? I said the 19th,his reply “thats it Mum thats the day.
Yesterday i went to the parent interview with MR W and asked if he knew if you had the baby  because of what Roman said and he said that it did happen on Tuesday that they just had the email from you .I was “oh my God!” This morning we were still talking about it,he said  this is amazing you have to tell Mrs B!
Roman also mention many times that was going to be a boy, last year and this year he always said it’s a boy Mum! I send you and the baby all our love and
stay well and all the best .
By the way Roman is doing great with Mr W,
Love ,Rosalita

My Reply …………………………6 months too late!

Hi Rosalita and family

How are you? I hope you are keeping well. I have just gained access to my work email today, it had been frozen whilst I was on leave. I was just going through old mails and got your beautiful well wishes for Samuel. What A lovely surprise to open my email and read that!

It’s really funny actually, I had my first day back at work today, and I bumped into Roman at Morning Tea, I was so hoping I would. I was so amazed at how beautifully he spoke to me, he sounded so grown up and gave me the biggest hug. He has come such a long way! Rosalita, You must be just so proud of him, it was so great seeing him. I am so glad that he is having a great year, could not have asked for anything else.

Hope Paul, Isabella and the rest of the family are doing well.

P.s- You and Roman really inspired me last year, I enrolled back at uni and have started studying for my Masters In Special Education with a focus on Autism/ Aspergers. Despite having taught many children on the spectrum he has really left an imprint in my heart.

All the best
Mrs B
________________________________Image

5 thoughts on “This is why I do it………….

  1. This is so sweet. Sometimes I wonder when Emily tells us of events happening or stories about what happened during the day if she knows or if she’s making things up. Lately, she amazes us with remembering things and dates. It’s awesome that you made such an impact on that little guy that he remembered. Yeah for both of you!

Leave a Reply

