People watching part 1

I love people watching, it is one of my favourite past times. In the pre- child days I could do it for hours. These days I only get small windows of opportunity in which to sneak a peek, so I like to make the most of it. My favourite of all ‘people watching’ challenges, is to find the people having their ‘first date’ at a restaurant, it is like striking gold. I’m not sure what it is that attracts me to it. Maybe because I always see something so shocking that it validates my own normality or maybe I’m just a nosey bugger. My husband thinks it is definitely because I am a nosey bugger…so I will go with that. Anyway today while sitting at my favourite upper class coffee shop ( Donut King) I saw :

1. A man in his mid forties listening to music through an actual ‘Walkman’. No, not a Discman, I looked very carefully. It was definitely an old cassette playing Walkman, a relic of decades gone by. Firstly, what was he listening too? obviously not something from the top 30! More likely to be something from the era of ‘cassettes’. The last cassette I purchased was Madonna;The Immaculate Collection. Either this guy is an electronic genius who has been able to repair the tapes  after they’ve made the squeaky noise and gotten all tangled up or he has just discovered an old Christmas present that had been left hidden in the wardrobe. 

2. A Whole family walking through the shopping centre with their swimmers on. I realize that living in a coastal area that some would consider this normal, but it is winter and we were at least 10 km’s from the beach. Surely there is a suggested distance from the beach in which wearing swimmers as a replacement for clothing has to be frowned upon. My thoughts are….if you are more than one street away, put your pants on. 

3. Child playing in the indoor playground removing his nappy and inviting his new found friends to have a look. In fact he was so proud of his disappearing pants trick that he then threw it over the fence to share with the rest of the shoppers.

4. The Italian lady in her late thirties who shares a house with her mother three doors down from our house trudging through the shopping centre yelling at her boyfriend again. I would like to suggest that perhaps the fighting would stop if you moved into your own house …Just an idea? 

Oh and yes and I know that you saw us..

End of People watching Part One.

 Image

16 thoughts on “People watching part 1

  1. Hahahahahha. What a good laugh. And what’s wrong wtih a walkman? It was probably vintage and he probably bought it off eBay for $400 for nostalgic value!

    May I just point out, however, that a woman who was entrapped in a horrible relationship with a foreigner in the foreigner’s country (thus making HER the foreigner, I suppose) dressed for a day at the beach and took her child to the airport and escaped wearing only her swimsuit. The child was similarly clad. I forget the details but I think this woman’s husband was a man of importance so no one questioned her reason for getting on a plane in merely a swimsuit. Maybe the entire family in your blog was on the lam…

  2. I started watching people just recently.My son-in law is a huge people watcher,and we went to the shore and he was doing it,got me hooked.i went too a picnic with my daughter and i said two men fishing are actually undercover cops,the man on the side acting strange was their subject,it was hilarious.we turned a ordinary picnic into a full blown novel.

  3. Pingback: The Joys of People-Watching | observations of a canary

Leave a Reply

